Monday, April 20, 2009

Week 11, Day 1

Well I dutifully did five days of week 10 plus a little bit of work on an elliptical trainer last week and I felt pretty good about it. I steadily did about 2.85 miles every run and every run, I trimmed a little time off how long it took me to do it. So it was a good week last week, in terms of running. I worked hard, I did my thing, and I think I got good stuff out of it. Wednesday morning is weigh-in so we'll see. ^_^ Hopefully I'll get a pleasant surprise.. I could really, really use one.

This week is Week 11... Which is the week that's finally pushed me over 3 miles. I did 3.10 miles a few minutes ago. :) 3.10 -slow- miles but nevertheless I did a 5k so I know I can do it. For now on it's all about doing a 5k in less time (while lengthening the time i spend running every week, you know how it goes). Today -sucked-. The first day of a new week always sucks a little because I add two minutes to my running time - I start out with no idea how far or long I'm gonna be running so my times and pace are always all messed up. Aaaaand I may or may not have screwed up my nutrition and barely eaten 1000 calories a day for the last... three days or so. It turns out? If you don't get enough calories, carbs, fats, and proteins, this running harder stuff -sucks-. I rolled in today feeling sweaty, tired, and pretty damn nauseous. So take a note Gladys, Arienna needs to -eat-.

I had a long weekend. I'm dealing with.. some stuff right now. It was the weekend of long conversations. Long conversations with Adam, long conversations with Trent, the man I meant to marry... Long conversations all over the place. I don't really wanna explain the background.. I've been running away from the background for the last 8 months and I'm still not... I haven't dealt with it. I have to deal with it in order to remain on speaking terms with myself, but that's gonna take a little while.

The end result of all the talking and crying is I'm going to start taking some time away from Adam. I know he cares about me and that I'm important to him, he says he loves me and I believe him. But he also said, very clearly, that he's just plain not in love with me. And I no longer know what I want or who I am. So I'm going to spend some time alone, get to know myself, and see who I am these days and whether or not I can stand myself...

Strangely enough, even though I'm feeling pretty wasted and miserable, I'm getting all kinds of productive. I started taking the steps necessary to fix some of the problems in my life today and... I applied at the local community college.

No really, I did!

Tomorrow I gotta call and have my transcripts sent over so that's a bit of a drag, but with a little luck I'll get enrolled and registered before May 8th and I'll be able to sign up for summer classes. I'm excited. It's only community college, but still. No more being a 24 year old college drop out. I'm gonna go back, I'm going to pick a damn major, and I'm going to get a degree, dangit.

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

So Long Week 9, Long Live Week 10!

Sheesh, where have I been?

I was so busy living Week 9, I didn't have time to write about it. Does that sound funny? This whole thing takes up lots of time out of my day that I never really noticed was there. I have to wake up early and eat. I have to pack my lunch, I have to go to work. When I get home from work, I have to cook dinner and then I have to eat. And then after an hour or two to digest, I have to run. And then I have to relax for an hour or two and then I have to go to bed so I can get 8 hours of sleep so I can get up and go through my whole day with energy and then go running again the next day.

Grocery shopping too has started to take up more time. I can no longer do ninja raids on the aisles full of my old favourites - I spend my time at the store wandering around getting into everything and reading all the labels. Adding things up and subtracting and then reading the ingrediants 'cause there's several things I plain don't eat anymore (partially hydrogenated soybeans, no more! So long white flour, hello whole grains. Alas, sweetie fries I loved you). Grocery shopping has become an Event, where in I fondle all the food, imagine what I'm going to eat, how I could fix this, and ultimately subtract and divide until I get the calories per gram of protein and dismiss half the things in my cart as simply not packing enough umph for me. Go figure.

Protein is surprisingly difficult for me to get and I need -lots- of it. A couple of meat meals a day barely suffices and takes time to create and arrange. I'm eyeing adding some nuts into my snacking but then I'll have to do the protein over fat math. Speaking of which, I eat a -lot- now. Every couple of hours without fail, my stomach starts growling and I have to feed it an apple or a bundle of grapes or a chicken breast or the neighbor's kid... It's endless.

But I've lost 9.6 lbs since that fateful day (March 24th) when I bought a scale, yelped, and settled down to take a serious look at my eating habits. I have not had more than a single class of diet coke in weeks, I drink 8 glasses of water a day, and I feel pretty good.

Let's talk about running. ^_^ Last week was a big week in my running schedule because I went from running 9 minutes, walking 4, running 9 more minutes to running 13 minutes straight. Woots. I was a little worried about it but when I went out it was -way- easier than I expected. Too easy. I had to take on couple minutes of walking and then another 6 minute running set because I gotta get my 30 minutes in. :D

Last night I ran 2.7 miles, which is a personal best. In a couple of months, I'm planning on signing up for a 5k (3 miles) and doing my first organized race ever. I'm dragging Adam and all the people who love me out so they can wave flags and cheer for me when I cross the finish line - slow, sweaty, but -there-. ^_^ After that, 10k! And come February there's an 8 mile trail run at one of the prettier mountains here in NC that I'm thinking of signing up for, to give me something to aim for.

Think I can do it? ^_~