Monday, March 23, 2009

My life gets a little surreal sometimes...

I like to go to the grocery store every day or two. When I buy $60 worth of groceries meant to last a couple weeks, I always eat all the good stuff immediately and leave the rest rotting in the cupboards, while I eat Wendy's. ^_^; Bad juju. So instead I like to wander up to the store with my little shopping basket and pick out things that look good and tasty for the next few meals. It's probably not very cost effective nor is it very time effective, but a walk in the sunshine's kinda nice and not having a fridge full of rotting fruit is always good. Now one of the annoying things about going grocery shopping, especially when I only buy a little basket of stuff, is I look like a teenager. Almost every single time I go, as I start putting my purchases on the conveyor belt behind some adult looking person, the cashier asks the adult, "Is this together?" Because I look like a teenager and clearly, can not be a grown adult buying my own food.

Today this got way more interesting. I went to the store and bought some salad mix and a couple of pot pies and some jello pudding mix and some graham crackers and a bottle of diet coke and some juice. Laden with goodies, I sidled up to the queue and waited patiently for my turn. I was behind a woman an her husband, who were showing the cashier pictures from their daughter's wedding... But I was in no hurry so I didn't fuss or tap my foot, I just waited and piled my stuff up behind a little dividing strip on the conveyor belt... And when my turn finally came up the cashier turned to the man and asked, "Is this together?" And I said "Nope, that's all mine." and I turned to the fellow, gave him a smile and told him I'm hoping that in another 10 years or so, people will expect me to pay for my own. 'cause, you know, I'll look like a grown-up by then.

I paid for my groceries and I was headed out the store when the fellow from the line called out to me. He'd been waiting for me to finish and as I turned to him, he said. "I started to pay for your groceries and I felt like I should. I felt like the lord was moving that way. Should I have?'

Well I thanked him politely and denied and wandered off to my car. And I guess it was a nice gesture but it was kinda weird too. None of my clothes had holes in them, I'd actually washed my hair before going out. I was clean and dressed, and cheerful - definitely not the image of a needy person, right? I mean, unless I'm sending out poor starving waif vibes without knowing it. Maybe next time I'll toss more junk food in. ^_~

No comments:

Post a Comment